Do you want a Leica M3 when you already have a Leica M6?

People always fight about this: which Leica is the best between the Leica M3 and the Leica M6? Well, the M3 is definitely more of a legend but the M6 is technically better and easier to use in most situations. Here are the main differences between the two cameras and here is why the M3 is still worth considering.

The Leica M6 TTL is definitely my favourite film camera – and maybe even my favourite camera in general, check out my review about this camera by clicking here – but after trying a Leica M3, I started to question my preference for the first time since I own an M6.

The Leica M3 defined the standard, well known and legendary Leica M look. So, without any surprises, the design between the two cameras is very similar. Some prefer the more vintage look of the M3, some like the slightly modern yet classic look of the M6.

While the M6 TTL is more common in black, the M3 however is usually found in a classic silver colour. A black version of the Leica M3 exists but it is one of the rarest Leica camera out there so, on top of being hard to find, it will be a very expensive camera to buy. A black Leica is considered to be more discrete. However, I still think that a film camera, even a medium format is still more stealthy than a digital DSLR, especially in the streets, where these Leica Ms truly shine.

But the main difference between those two cameras come from the magnification factor of the ranged itself. Indeed, you have a broader range of view with the Leica M6 than the Leica M3. To sum up and to give a more precise idea about this difference, we usually say that the M6 is best to shoot with a 35mm lens or wider while the M3 is definitely made to shoot a 50mm lens.

That magnification factor on the M3 also gives the possibility to shoot with both eyes open as there is almost no difference between your sight through that rangefinder and your ‘natural’ sight. Some street photographers love this technique as it allows them to see even more of the scene, way wider than what is actually gonna be in the frame. It allows them to plan their framing and wait for the very decisive moment to press that shutter button.

Leica M6 TTL

Speaking of shutter, the shutter sound of these two cameras are different. The well known ‘Leica shutter sound’ is definitely the sound of that Leica M3’s shutter. Of course, the Leica M6 has a very silent and discrete shutter sound as well, as you may have expected. The shutter sound of the M3 just seems more mechanical and harsh, whereas the M6 shutter seems smoother. Even if that difference is subtle, it is noticeable and it is important to a handful of people. Details such as sound are part of the pleasure of shooting film right?

There is also important to consider if you hesitate between these two cameras: the Leica M3 does not have an in-body light meter. I personally never found the lack of it disturbing as I mainly use the Sunny 16 method to meter my shots (you can read more about this technique here) and because I mainly shoot black and white in general – black and white film is way more forgiving about exposure than colour film. But this is why I find the Leica M6 more versatile and easier to use in some situations. Even if you can instinctively nail your exposure often, it is nice to double check sometimes thanks to the in-body light meter when the situation is uncommon or particularly difficult.

For all those differences, I seriously consider buying a Leica M3 to pair it with my 50mm Summicron lens. I’ll keep my Leica M6 TTL (did I ever mention that I love this camera?) and use it with my 35mm Summicron. I think both of these cameras are absolutely fantastic and very inspiring to use. Their limitations push me to get more creative and also simpler in the way I shoot.

Both of these cameras really shine when used in the streets. They’re very discrete, elegant and also very resistant. None of them will fail you, ever.

I’d love to hear your opinion on this subject. Do you prefer the Leica M3 or the Leica M6? Do you own any of these cameras? 

7 thoughts on “Do you want a Leica M3 when you already have a Leica M6?

  1. thank you for this information, interesting to read about, even i don’t think about to buy Leica.
    about “discrete” – all the time when i’m and my friend walk together with our cameras, people stop him and ask about his Leica. Sometimes it’s just unbearable and annoying but there is a price for this price 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Well, it doesn’t work as well for me. When I shoot digital, I take far better street photos with my iPhone than my D810.
        I might be less confortable and over estimating the impact of having a big camera in the streets though.
        However, I’m comfortable with shooting straight to the face of someone with my Leica 😉

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment